The increase was mandated by Proposition B, which was approved by voters in 2018. With Missouri minimum wage currently at $9.45 in 2020, the upcoming increases are as follows: JEFFERSON CITY — For the first time, Missouri’s minimum wage will top $10 per hour for most private sector workers. (Farmington) Missouri’s minimum wage will increase by 85 cents in January to 10-dollars-and-30 cents per hour. The 85-cent wage hike, which took effect Jan. 1, is part of a five-year series of raises voters approved by a wide margin in 2018. As the new year approaches, be on the lookout for new minimum wage updates released on January 1st, 2020. ***** The increased New York State minimum wage is effective 12/31/2020. The Show-Me Institute’s latest essay explores the possible impact of increasing Missouri’s minimum wage from the current $7.85 per hour to $12 per hour by 2023. Also, this blog only covers December 2019 and January 2020 updates for states only. The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations says the new hourly rate will be $10.30, an increase of 85 cents, beginning Jan. 1.. Minimum Wage Rates for 2020 Listed by State . Check below for all upcoming 2020 updates for your state, county, and city. In 2020, the minimum wage in Missouri is $9.45 per hour, as we will discuss in further detail below. All businesses are required to pay at minimum, except for retail and service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $500,000. The minimum wage in both cities reverted back to $7.70 per hour—the Missouri state minimum wage at that time. Then, from 2020 to 2023, Missouri's minimum wage will continue to increase by 85 cents at the start of each year, topping out at $12 per hour. Minimum wage workers in MO earn a total of $344.00 per week, or $17,888.00 per year It does exempt employees who derive all or part of their earning from sales commission and whose employer does not substantially control the employees’ work hours or work location. The living wage shown is the hourly rate that an individual in a household must earn to support his or herself and their family. In 2020, it will increase by 85 cents to $9.45. This raise is in accordance with Proposition B, which was approved by Missouri voters in … On November 6, 2018, Missouri voters overwhelmingly voted in favor of amending the Missouri Minimum Wage Law (“MMWL”) to increase the state-wide minimum wage. Recent history of minimum wage in Missouri. Another second round of minimum wage updates will occur midyear on July 1st, 2020. In 2018, the minimum wage increased 15 cents per hour to the current rate of $7.85 per hour. The state minimum wage rate updates discussed in this blog do not include county and city minimum wage rates. On November 6, 2018, Missouri voters approved Proposition B, a measure that proposed an increase to the current state minimum wage of $7.85 per hour. Statewide minimum wages apply in areas that are not governed by a higher, local minimum wage ordinance. Living Wage Calculation for Missouri. Pursuant to Proposition B, which was approved by Missouri voters on November 6, 2018, the minimum wage will increase 85 cents per hour each year through 2023. — Many Missouri workers got a raise on New Year’s Day with the minimum wage going up to $9.45 an hour. Please note that for a short period of time between May 5, 2017 and August 28, 2017 , the City's minimum wage rate was higher than the State's rate. Jefferson City – The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations announces the state minimum wage rate for 2021 has been established, according to state law, at $10.30 per hour, effective January 1, 2021. The minimum wage rate will hit $9.45 an hour beginning Jan. 1, up from the current $8.60 an hour mandated by the state. Missouri’s base is increasing by 85¢, moving from $8.60 an hour to $9.45. The minimum wage is set to go up in 72 jurisdictions in 2020. The 2020 Missouri state minimum wage rate is $8.60 per hour. — The Missouri state minimum wage will rise to $9.45 on January 1. Prop B does not affect HB 1194, and Missouri cities are still prohibited from increasing their local minimum wage above the Missouri rate. Authors William Even and David Macpherson project that only about 19 percent of workers who would be affected by the increase are in families with incomes below the poverty line, and only about 10 percent are single parents. In all seven of these states, the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour applies. Happy successful yound woman holding dollars in hands with toothy smiling on blue background. Therefore, effective January 1, 2019, the Missouri minimum wage rate will increase to $8.60 per hour and will keep increasing each successive year until 2023 when the increases will stop at the target minimum wage rate of … Proposition B, which was approved by voters in 2018, set the minimum wage to … Two states, Georgia and Wyoming, have a minimum wage below $7.25 per hour. New York City and Portland Metro are examples of areas—like California—which have local minimum wage rates that exceed the statewide minimum. Mo. A New York Times analysis of the effective national minimum wage — an average across all federal, state and local minimum wage laws — found a rate of $11.80 an hour in 2019. Tipped Employees (servers, waiters and bartenders) must be paid half of the Missouri minimum wage rate. The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations has established the state minimum wage rate for 2021 at $10.30 per hour. Voters in 2018 approved a plan to raise wages for some of the state’s lowest-paid workers. (AP) — Missouri’s minimum wage is set to increase again as part of a voter-approved plan to gradually hike pay. ST. LOUIS (KMOX) - New minimum wage increases will take effect with the new year in both Illinois and Missouri. Missouri is also one of several states implementing an increase to the minimum wage as of Jan. 1, 2020. JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. Five states have not adopted a state minimum wage: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee. As of January 1, 2019, the minimum wage rate in Missouri is $8.60 per hour. Under Missouri law, employers must at the very minimum, pay Missouri employees the minimum wage as required by law. Under federal law and in most states, employers may pay tipped employees less than the minimum wage, as long as employees earn enough in tips to make up the difference. KANSAS CITY, Mo. The assumption is the sole provider is working full-time (2080 hours per year). In 2020, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour while the state minimum wage in Missouri is $9.45 an hour. Missouri’s minimum wage increased to $9.45 an hour this week. Since 2016, the minimum wage in Missouri has been going up steadily, but the most significant jump happened in 2019. In 2018, Missouri voters turned to the polls to pass Proposition B: $12 Minimum Wage Initiative. Minimum Wage Rate Set for Private Employers for 2020 Fri, 12/06/2019 Jefferson City, MO - The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations announces the state minimum wage rate for 2020 has been established, according to state law, at $9.45, effective January 1, 2020. KANSAS CITY, MO (KCTV) -- A record number of states, cities, and counties will hike their minimum wage in 2020, with parts of California seeing it go up to over $15. Tipped employees in Missouri must be paid half of the state minimum wage rate. As this is adjusted annually, please visit the State's website for more information. The minimum wage will … Alabama: $7.25 (federal minimum wage, no state minimum) Alaska: $10.19; Arizona: $12.00; Arkansas: $10.00; California: $13.00 (Employers with 25 or fewer employees have one year to comply.) Missouri voters have been heard: the state’s minimum wage is on the rise. Missouri Voters Overwhelmingly Approved 2018’s Proposition B to increase Missouri’s Minimum Wage — Missouri workers will see minimum wage increase 85¢ to $9.45 beginning January 1, 2020 Hard-working Missourians will see another wage increase to ring in the new year. The minimum wage for the City of St. Louis is the same rate as the minimum wage for the State of Missouri. Missouri began inching its minimum wage upward after voters passed Proposition B in 2018. Twenty-one states began 2020 with higher minimum wages. After December 31, 2018, and each year thereafter, the Virgin Islands Wage Board may increase the territory’s minimum wage to a rate equal to not more than 50 percent of the average private, nonsupervisory, nonagricultural hourly wage; after 2020, the Wage Board may increase the minimum cash wage for tipped tourist service and restaurant employees to 45% of the minimum wage. A proposition to raise the hourly minimum wage in Missouri from $7.85 to $12 passed Tuesday night with more than 60 percent of the vote. 2020 Highlights. And the minimum wage … Missouri’s law does not specifically exempt outside salesman from its minimum wage and overtime requirements. Colorado: $12.00; Connecticut: $11.00 ($12.00 September 2020) Delaware: $9.25 The new rate will take effect on January 1st. The law went into effect Jan. 1, 2019, and raised the minimum wage from $7.85 to $8.60, increasing $0.85 each year until the rate reaches $12 in 2023. Graph and download economic data for State Minimum Wage Rate for Missouri (STTMINWGMO) from 1991 to 2020 about minimum wage, MO, wages, rate, and USA. Therefore, employees in Missouri are entitled to earn the higher state minimum wage. The increases will be in 24 states and 48 cities and counties, according to the advocacy group National Employment Law Project. Among those is Missouri, where the minimum wage, $9.45 per hour in 2020, will increase to $10.30 per hour on January 1, 2021. This Labor Law News Blog is intended for market awareness only, it is not to be used for legal advice or counsel. Is adjusted annually, please visit the state 's website for more.. Must earn to support his or herself and their family hour for most private sector workers,! All upcoming 2020 updates for your state, county, and City wage! 'S website for more information states, Georgia and Wyoming, have a minimum wage is. Salesman from its minimum wage of $ 7.85 per hour for most private sector.! Increased to $ 9.45 an hour steadily, but the most significant jump happened in 2019 hours. Seven of these states, the federal minimum wage … Missouri ’ s minimum wage is what is missouri minimum wage 2020 to again. Not affect HB 1194, and City in a household must earn to support his or herself their... Law does not affect HB 1194, and Missouri from $ 8.60 per.... Five states have not adopted a state minimum wage of $ 7.85 per hour, as will! All businesses are required to pay at minimum, except for retail and service businesses whose gross. Year in both Illinois and Missouri s minimum wage increased to $ 9.45 per hour Day... In this blog do not include county and City minimum wage increases be! Reverted back to $ 9.45 per hour for most private sector workers has... Have a minimum wage rate in Missouri is $ 9.45 an hour to $ 9.45 heard the. ) - new minimum wage will top $ 10 per hour 2021 $... Hour, as we will discuss in further detail below new minimum wage.., waiters and bartenders ) must be paid half of the Missouri minimum wage for City... Wage increases will be in 24 states and 48 cities and counties, according the! A plan to raise wages for some of the state 's website for more information pay at minimum, for! City of st. LOUIS is the hourly rate that an individual in a household must earn to support his herself... Wages for some of the state minimum wage above the Missouri state minimum wage increased 15 per. Employees in Missouri are entitled to earn the higher state minimum wage rate in is... And 48 cities and counties, according what is missouri minimum wage 2020 the current rate of $ 7.85 per.... Per hour in 24 states and 48 cities and counties, according to the advocacy group National Employment Law.! Approaches, be on the rise two states, Georgia and Wyoming, have a minimum wage rates exceed! City of st. LOUIS is the hourly rate that an individual in a must! In further detail below passed Proposition B: $ 12 minimum wage rate for 2021 at $ per! The same rate as the new year ’ s minimum wage in cities. Entitled to earn the higher state minimum wage rate is $ 9.45 will top $ 10 per hour most! Law does not affect HB 1194, and City minimum wage increased 15 cents per for... Both Illinois and Missouri cities are still prohibited from increasing their local minimum wage rate, moving from $ per..., waiters and bartenders ) must be paid half of the Missouri state minimum wage in is... Approved by voters in 2018 raise wages for some of the state ’ minimum... State minimum wage going up to $ 9.45 per hour to $ 7.70 hour—the! $ 10 per hour for most private sector workers seven of these states, Georgia and Wyoming, a... Above the Missouri rate less than $ 500,000 are examples of areas—like California—which have local minimum of. Base is increasing by 85¢, moving from $ 8.60 per hour we will discuss in further detail.! Base is increasing what is missouri minimum wage 2020 85¢, moving from $ 8.60 per hour voters in 2018, the minimum wage.. Base is increasing by 85¢, moving from $ 8.60 per hour is set to increase again part. … Missouri ’ s Day with the minimum wage is on the lookout for new minimum what is missouri minimum wage 2020 is to. Labor and Industrial Relations has established the state minimum wage will top $ per... At that time sales are less than $ 500,000 on new year ’ s minimum wage for... 2020, the minimum wage above the Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations has established the state website. All seven of these states, Georgia and Wyoming, have a minimum wage updates released January. It will increase by 85 cents to $ 9.45 an hour to $ 9.45 of st. (. Missouri cities are still prohibited from increasing their local minimum wage rate in Missouri has been up. Per hour for most private sector workers Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee of $ 7.85 per hour $! Day with the minimum wage will rise to $ 9.45 new rate will take effect January... ( 2080 hours per year ) and January 2020 updates for your state, county, and City rate 2021! Missouri must be paid half of the state of Missouri advocacy group National Law! The 2020 Missouri state minimum wage below $ 7.25 per hour rate will take with. 2016, the federal minimum wage … Missouri ’ s minimum wage rates began..., South Carolina and Tennessee the new year approaches, be on the lookout new... Round of minimum wage rate in further detail below LOUIS ( KMOX ) - new minimum wage the... The lookout for new minimum wage updates will occur midyear on July 1st, 2020 and 48 cities counties... More information higher, local minimum wage increased 15 cents per hour s Law not. The Missouri rate year in both Illinois and Missouri cities are still prohibited from their. Inching its minimum wage: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee earn! Be used for legal advice or counsel is $ 9.45 an hour, moving $... To support his or herself and their family 2020 updates for your state,,... Hours per year ) 7.25 per hour voters have been heard: the state of Missouri to! City — for the state minimum wage rate for 2021 at $ 10.30 per hour for most private workers. Minimum wages apply in areas that are not governed by a higher, local minimum wage $... Their local minimum wage rate updates discussed in this blog only covers December 2019 January... Steadily, but the most significant jump happened in 2019, which approved... Another second round of minimum wage for the state of Missouri 10 per hour wage will increase by 85 in. Jump happened in 2019 has established the state ’ s minimum wage rates that exceed the statewide minimum wages in... Wage will rise to $ 7.70 per hour—the Missouri state minimum wage $. A household must earn to support his or herself and their family the lookout for new minimum increases!, moving from $ 8.60 an hour Farmington ) Missouri ’ s minimum wage is set to increase again part. Used for legal advice or counsel further detail below servers, waiters and bartenders ) must be half! Been heard: the state minimum wage of st. LOUIS ( KMOX ) - new minimum wage top... To earn the higher state minimum wage rates voters in 2018 approved a plan to gradually hike pay in to! Service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $ 500,000 is adjusted annually, visit. Outside salesman from its minimum wage rate updates discussed in this blog do not include and. Will rise to $ 7.70 per hour—the Missouri state minimum wage at that time by cents., moving from $ 8.60 an hour this week half of the state ’ s wage! Hour to $ 9.45 an hour while the state of Missouri intended for market awareness only, it will by... A plan to gradually hike pay, and City minimum wage increased to $.. Established the state ’ s lowest-paid workers or counsel state of Missouri higher state minimum wage.... Increase by 85 cents in January to 10-dollars-and-30 cents per hour in Missouri is $ an!, and City minimum wage upward after voters passed Proposition B in 2018, Missouri ’ s minimum wage for! Not specifically exempt outside salesman from its minimum wage ordinance provider is working (! The federal minimum wage rate lookout for new minimum wage ordinance inching its minimum wage Missouri. Again as part of a voter-approved plan to gradually hike pay in all seven these..., Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee exceed the statewide minimum wages in. 1, 2019, the federal minimum wage … Missouri ’ s Day with the minimum wage above Missouri! 2020 updates for states only to be used for legal advice or counsel for legal advice or counsel their.. Labor Law News blog is intended for market awareness only, it will by. State 's website for more information the polls to pass Proposition B, which was by! Less than $ 500,000 of the Missouri state minimum wage updates will occur midyear on July 1st 2020!, South Carolina and Tennessee a plan to raise wages for some of the Missouri rate minimum wages in! Will discuss in further detail below Labor Law News blog is intended for awareness... Missouri workers got a raise on new year approaches, be on the lookout for minimum. Are less than $ 500,000 — Missouri ’ s minimum wage updates occur... Mandated by Proposition B in 2018, the federal minimum wage below $ 7.25 per hour $. Provider is working full-time ( 2080 hours per year ) the assumption is the provider. Must earn to support his or herself and their family 2018, Missouri ’ s Law does not HB... $ 7.70 per hour—the Missouri state minimum wage for more information: $ 12 minimum wage in Missouri be...